Browser War’s Over?

Yang menarik dari Web 2.0 Expo baru-baru ini, perwakilan dari Mozilla, Microsoft, Opera, dan Google membahas tentang masa depan browser. Salah satu kesimpulannya adalah keamanan (security) masih menjadi prioritas utama dan bahwa  browser di masa depan akan menjadi platform pengembangan. Ada yang menangkap ini sebagai isyarat berakhirnya Browser Wars. Entah ini akan menjadi kenyataan atau tidak. Untuk sementara silakan simak parodi berikut ini berjudul (dikutip dari Slashdot):

Browser Wars IV: A New Hope

Luke Spyglass: "You fought in the browser wars?"

NCSA Mosaic: "I was once a web browser the same as your father."

Luke Spyglass: "My father didn’t browse the web. He was a finger server at the community college."

NCSA
Mosaic: "That’s what your Uncle told you. He didn’t hold with your
father’s ideals. He thought he should stay home. Not gotten involved."

Luke Spyglass: "I wish I had known him."

NCSA
Mosaic: "He was a cunning application, and the best downloaded in the
galaxy. I understand you’ve become quite a good downloader yourself.
And he was a good friend. For over a thousand days the W3C protected
the web. Before the dark times. Before the Empire"

Luke Spyglass: "How did my father die?"

NCSA
Mosaic: "A young web browser named Internet Explorer, who was a
derivative of mine until he turned to evil, helped the Emporer hunt
down and destroy the W3C standards. He betrayed and murdered your
father. IE was seduced by the Dark Side of the internet."

Luke Spyglass: "The internet?"

NCSA
Mosaic: "Yes, the internet is what gives a web browser his power. It’s
an energy field created by all connected computers. It surrounds us.
Penetrates us. Binds the world together. Which reminds me. Your father
wanted you to have this when you were old enough, but your Uncle
wouldn’t allow. He thought you’d follow NCSA Mosaic on some idealistic
crusade."

Luke Spyglass: "What is it?"

NCSA Mosaic: "It
is open source browser source code. The weapon of a web browser. Not as
random or clumsy as a closed source. An elegant idea for a more
civilized age."

Masih kurang? silakan simak lanjutannya di bawah ini:

NCSA Mosaic: IE was a good friend.

NCSA Mosaic: When I first
knew him, your father was already a great application. But I was amazed
how strongly the Internet was with him. I took it upon myself to train
him as a browser. I thought that I could instruct him just as well as
Lynx. I was wrong.

Luke Spyglass: There IS still standards compliance in him. I’ve felt it.

NCSA Mosaic: He more Microsoft’s interpretation of W3C standards now than compliant; twisted and evil.

Luke Spyglass: I can’t do it, Mosaic.

NCSA Mosaic: You cannot escape your destiny. You must face Internet Explorer again.

Luke Spyglass: I can’t kill my own father.

NCSA Mosaic: Then Microsoft has already won. You were our only hope.

Luke Spyglass: Lynx spoke of another.

NCSA Mosaic: The other he spoke of is your twin sister.

Luke Spyglass: But I HAVE no sister.

NCSA
Mosaic: Hmm. To protect you both from the Emperor, you were hidden from
your father when you were born. The Emperor knew, as I did, if IE were
to have any offspring, they would be a threat to him. That is the
reason why your sister remains safely anonymous.

Luke Spyglass: Opera! Opera’s my sister.

NCSA
Mosaic: Your codebase serves you well. Bury your threads deep down,
Luke. They do you credit, but they could be made to serve the Emperor.

Tinggalkan Balasan

